top of page

Potty Training with Alexa

You read that right, I programmed Alexa to set a reminder every 30 minutes to remind my daughter to go potty. Imagine her sitting at the table putting together a puzzle and Alexa says "Charlotte it's time to go to potty please." She doesn't want to stop so she responds "No Alexa, I don't need to". Alexa repeats the reminder twice so Charlotte hears "Charlotte it's time to go potty please" then she responds something like "Okay I'll go try" and problem solved, we have gone an entire day and a half (knock on wood) with no accident and I haven't had to argue with her. If that's not potty training made easier than I don't know what else is.

The hardest part for me is reminding her consistently every 30 minutes to go because life happens and I'm distracted changing a diaper for little sister or I'm busy doing dishes and then all of the sudden she has an accident. I get frustrated I let myself forget and then we are on the fifth pair of undies, need to carpet clean again and no progress was made in my hopes to potty train this week. Problem solved, there's been ZERO accidents, I don't have to argue with her she does with Alexa and she listens when Alexa reminds her again. Fingers crossed we are successful this go around.

***reminders are sent to your phone. If you are out of the house no worries, you can still see the reminder to run potty while running errands.

 

Not sure how to set up recurring reminders? It's simple, may take a few minutes but those minutes have saved me in laundry......... All you need to do is follow these simple steps to set up your potty training timer.

1. Open up your Alexa App, Click on Reminders and Alarms.

2.: Click on Reminder, and create your reminder. I copied my reminder so I can quickly paste it in and not have to type it in each time.

3. Turn the toggle on for Repeat, set it so your reminder will repeat every day, and select your time. Click Save.

4. Once you have saved your reminder, Repeat steps 2 and 3 until the reminder is set throughout the day. Right now Alexa will only let you create reminders for daily, weekdays, and weekends. It's a little extra work but saves in accidents and helps with consistency.

I set my reminders starting at 8 AM to 8 PM (/20:00 if you do military time like me). Right now we are doing it every 30 minutes until she can get into a routine.

 

I may have gone the extra mile this morning and added our daily schedule for quiet time, time to get dressed, remind the kids to brush their teeth, get jammies on etc. What reminders do you set for Alexa to help out daily? This has been my favorite gifts from my husband and he is probably giving himself a pat on the back seeing it in action knowing what it's doing for me haha,

If you don't own an Alexa, struggling with potty training and need to try something new order yours here here: https://amzn.to/2L7mxey (affiliate)

Alexa this mom thanks you for making life a little easier so that I ca

bottom of page